Thursday, January 20, 2011

Marrakech Marathon attracts 2000 runners.

Marrakech hosts its 22nd marathon on the 30th of January 2011. About 2000 athletes, most of them foreigners are expected to try to unseat the Ethiopian champions, Yared Dagnaw and Gelaw Tsega. Last year Yared Dagnaw won with a time of 2:10:20. Retain his title will not be an easy task in view of the group of opponents who will attend.

The Kenyan Elias Kitum, double winner of the marathon of Linz (France) in 2008 (2:10:18) and 2009 (2:11.22) and the Ethiopian Shumi Gerbaba, winner of the 3rd marathon of Casablanca in 2010 (2:09:03) will attend with the same ambition of succeeding to Yared and holding the record of the marathon of Marrakech.

The Moroccan, Khalid Boumlili, winner in San Diego in 2009 (2:11:16), Benazzouz Slimani, who won in Miami in 2009 (2:14.55) and Ridouane Harroufi, twice winner of the Colorado road race (10 km) in 2007 and 2008, will carry the local hopes.

More than 2000 athletes are expected. Among them are the Ethiopians Haile Haja (2:09:24) and Mesfin Admasu (2:09:41), the Norwegian Urige Arado (2:09.27) and the Kenyans Cosmas Koech (2:09.25) and Hillary Kipchumba (2:10.02) are part of the foreign armada.

In the women’s category, in addition to the champion Gelaw Tsega (2:29.14), are her mates Bruftawit Degefa (2:29.48), Zahera Kedir (2h35min), Desta Girma winner of the marathon of Madrid in 2010. There is also the Russian Oskana Kuzmicheva (2:37.10) and the American Mary Akor (2:36.44) who will also try to better the record (2:29.21) held by the Romanian Adriana Barbu since 1994.

No comments: